Nancy Kress

Guest Professorship 2008/2009

Nancy Kress is the author of numerous science fiction and fantasy novels, several short story collections and three books about writing. She has won the Nebula Award five times, as well as the Hugo Award (twice), the John W. Campbell Memorial Award and the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award. Her work has been translated into 15 languages and so far more 40 books have been published. CNN lauded her style as "devilishly inventive," and added that "her characters are more than cardboard cut-outs, and they wrestle with important issues - medical and ethical - every step of the way." Tom Easton remarked that "Kress ratchets the tension up and up in a grand display of writerly talent. If you like suspense, you're gonna love this one!"

Title Selection:

  • A Bright and Terrible Sword (2013)
  • Flash Point (2012)
  • After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall (2012)
  • Fountain of Age (2012)
  • The Erdmann Nexus oder After the Fall (2008)
  • Beggars in Spain (1991)
  • Out of All Them Bright Stars (1985)